General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice for a beginner

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2007, 02:35 PM
Default Advice for a beginner

Hi everyone,

May I request some advice for a complete beginner? I am an Australian living in The Netherlands and I am going to buy a Cadillac and do a lot of cruising with it around Europe. There are several (links below) which I have been looking at.

Of course I will be getting a mechanical check before buying anything, but are there any specific Cadillac issues I should look out for? E.g. What are the top 5 things I should know before buying? Also, and I dont mean to offend, but are these older cars suited to long road trips? What basic spare parts should I take with me?

Thanks in advance for any useful tips, much appreciated.

Happy Easter,
Dave

http://zoek.autotrader.nl/www/classi...00705273261557

http://zoek.autotrader.nl/www/classic_advert?make=Cadillac&keywords=&min _pr=&max_pr=&min_year=&max_year=&m in_mileage=&max_mileage=&distance=&pos tcode=&sort=18&dealertype_trade=on&dea lertype_private=on&source=0&wasback=y& id=200703271420304#

http://www.fcars.nl/showroom/details.php?carId=223

http://zoek.autotrader.nl/www/classi...00708277932344

http://zoek.autotrader.nl/www/classi...00711281264078

Old 04-07-2007, 03:30 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Advice for a beginner

My personal choice would be one of the 1976's, only because I've neverhadany of the others. This car is extremely suited for long rides, but will definately put a hole in your wallet for petrol.With this big v8 you should only expect to get around 10 to 12 mile per gallon, (not sure about liters).Also it was the last year for a caddy rag top. However, that is all based on condition of each individual auto.