Cadillac Seville The Cadillac luxury combined with a performance sedan feel

Any advice is helpful 99'SLS 1st ever post

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2013, 03:28 PM
Default Any advice is helpful 99'SLS 1st ever post

Well first off I'm a newbie to the site and a longtime Cadillac owner. I love the info thats provided here and its appreciated from less informed mechanics as myself.

Well here goes nothing.

I brought a 99' SLS back in April of 2012 from a private owner and everything looked great functioned properly other than some overall body dings that can be pointed towards a 13 year old car. The car had about 119k on it when I brought it and it has about 123k on it now. Around Thanksgiving of last year I noticed the car all of a sudden just out of the blu start to get hot(temp gauge). Luckily I was at my destination but it worried the heck out of me and I was about 20 minutes from home. The car sat about 3hrs so I figured I better just check the coolant and try to get the car home. I checked the resivor and it was about 3in from the neck which I thought was normal so I didn't add any coolant. The temp guage stayed in the middle until I got about half a block from the house then it started to rise. I made it home without the AC-off alert and I parked it. I didnt drive it for about 4days then I took it to my mechanic to have an oil change done and to check things out visually for me. This is only a preventive type shop so they really dont do big work. He changes the oil and shows me that I had coolant mixed in w/ the oil and it looked like it was in there pretty good so he changed it out for me free of charge and told me not to drive it other than right home which was pretty much 3min away. Here's my dielima: