Cadillac Seville The Cadillac luxury combined with a performance sedan feel

99 Seville SLS tyme certs vs engine block?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2008, 05:04 PM
Default 99 Seville SLS tyme certs vs engine block?

Good afternoon. I'm new to this. I have a beautiful 99 Seville SLS that just turned over 60,000 miles. I returned from a trip of 735 miles and got 27.6 mpg. I garaged the car until a trip was scheduled for three weeks later. I took the car to be serviced and noticed exhaust problem with strong odor. The car had a rough idle until warmed up. I let it warm before backing out of garage. The rough idle had been an off/on issue the past few months. The water pump was replaced last summer(07) as a result of my finding coolant on garage floor. This car has never registered hot. When I took car for servciing for next trip, I asked the mechanic to check the problem. I had leaking head gasket. The car is with a cadi mechanic now. He is now telling me there is oil weeping out in the bottom of the engine and indicates that I need an enigine block. He seems genuine and is trying to find the block from parts dealers. He mentioned tyme certs as a solution to the leaking oil, but since this weakens the wall of the aluminum engine more, he will not warranty his work because he feels this is not a good fix. May I have some other opinons please.Thanking you all in advance.

Old 07-12-2008, 09:50 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 99 Seville SLS tyme certs vs engine block?

Time Serts are generally a reliable repair. Does the mechanic suspect a cracked engine block? This may explain why he sees the need to get another block.

Old 07-12-2008, 10:10 AM