Member Introduction New to the forum? Stop in and introduce yourself! If you have a tech question, check out the General Technical Section

98 Deville Concours

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2013, 12:24 AM
Thumbs down 98 Deville Concours

Hey eveyone new guy from New Hampshire. So as it says I have a 98 Deville concours and I ran it at the local strip few weeks ago and notice with the traction control button in the glovebox forces the tranny into second?.... How do I get it to just let me go into first without traction control. I don't even care if it's permanent. This is just my summer cruiser toy. I've tried searching everywhere and haven't found anything. So I finally gave up and came here I really hope someone has an answer to my question!

Thanks, Ryan

Old 10-06-2013, 05:38 PM

Just to clarify, you think the TC is keeping the transmission from going to first? I'm no mechanic, and I don't know how the TC works, but if you want to get it into first, all you need to do is manual shift. It's perfectly fine, won't damage the transmission or anything. So, at stop, have the transmission in (1). If there's a way to shut it off, do it. You should have all the power ready at Green. If yours has the column-shift, it may be awkward, but it can be done. The only damage might be if you forget to up-shift!

TS

Old 10-06-2013, 05:58 PM

Originally Posted by SimpsonTruckDriver
Just to clarify, you think the TC is keeping the transmission from going to first? I'm no mechanic, and I don't know how the TC works, but if you want to get it into first, all you need to do is manual shift. It's perfectly fine, won't damage the transmission or anything. So, at stop, have the transmission in (1). If there's a way to shut it off, do it. You should have all the power ready at Green. If yours has the column-shift, it may be awkward, but it can be done. The only damage might be if you forget to up-shift!

TS