General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Spark Plugs

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2009, 11:32 AM
Default Spark Plugs

I own a 2001 Seville which has 130K miles on it. I have had the car about two years. It is running okay but I have no way of knowing how long it has been since the spark plugs were replaced. Should I simply wait untill the engine starts misfiring or should I go ahead and replace the plugs, now? If so, what kind of plugs are recommended and how do I go about doing this, myself. I consider myself pretty competent in engine know-how - however, I have never worked on a Northstar V-8 before.

Old 05-28-2009, 12:57 PM

i have a 99 sts and mine starting misfiring at around that millage. I changed the plugs and wires as i knew they were original. You can tell the original wires by each wire being numbered to the cylinder it goes to(nice idea). Even if you buy replacment wires from GM they no longer have the numbers to cylinder on wire. so i did both plugs/wires on mine and was pretty sure plugs were original as i got the car with 98K and it had about 3owners before, so i figured each one of them didnt have it long enough to change that stuff. youll have to remove the coil pack on the rear bank of plugs. If remember there are four 10mm bolts holding it down 2 rear are not visible you have to do it by feel, jus dont drop them. ITs pretty basic from there. I used ac-delco plugs and wires, that should get you another 100K. Plugs gap at .50 I got my parts cheapest at gmpartsdirect.com

Old 05-28-2009, 08:09 PM

Originally Posted by 99STSGUY
If remember there are four 10mm bolts holding it down 2 rear are not visible you have to do it by feel, jus dont drop them. ITs pretty basic from there. I used ac-delco plugs and wires, that should get you another 100K. Plugs gap at .50 I got my parts cheapest at gmpartsdirect.com