General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NEW, used 2002 Seville STS N* issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2009, 05:40 PM
Default NEW, used 2002 Seville STS N* issues

Hey all,

I just recently purchased an 02 seville sts. It has 93K miles and is in great shape. Problem is the PO said he thinks the HG is done. According to him he block tested it and it failed. He then apparently put some block sealer in the coolant that is specially for the N* engine costing over $100. I have no knowledge of this product and would never have used it myself.

Regardless, when the car starts it idles quite rough and after warming a little bogs and almost dies but does not. Then it will rev itself and hold it for 10 20 seconds at a time somewhere in the 3-4K range. It will then idle and continue the high rev pattern but differing slightly from the last. Also if i push the gas pedal it will stick to the highest rev point i pushed it to for again 10/20 seconds.

I pulled the regular obd2 code and I got P0300 and P0101. I replaced the MAF but to no avail. I tested the block, it passed no prob. I'm a bit stumped and do not want to pour more than a few hundred into it. I work on BMW's but this car is quite a bit different.

If any of you out there have a lot of experience with the 4.6 N* and could suggest any common issues that this car may be suffering from, i would be very grateful.

Aloha

Old 10-26-2009, 01:07 PM
Tech Certified Members

http://myweb.accessus.net/~090/dtcobd2b.html#bod this will help with codes...

when you changed the MAF did you clean with carb cleaner as far as you could in that area?? your other code is "engine misfire"...... plugs? wire?
i had a similar problem. i cleaned the area of maf as much as i could (probobly a whole can, revved her good, and started using premium fuel again. all gone!!

im sure someone will also jump in this one, so hang in.
WELCOME to the forum!!