General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Do all Northstars Overheat??

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2009, 05:13 PM
Default Do all Northstars Overheat??

This is insane. Is there a point(year) where engines were built with head gasket issues addressed? I have to replace my 93 sts because it was wrecked (I loved that car). I bought the car used with 120k and drove it for 5+ years, never had any of the problems I am hearing so much about but the car was very well kept. I want to get a deville 2000-2004. Do these cars have the same head gasket problems? Should I just expect to buy a car with a bad engine and do a reseal on the heads? Believe it or not I am a journeyman mechanic but with mostly asian experience. I am researching the cyl head job now. It looks like a lot of work but I am will to do it if necessary. What are the odds of the job lasting? I am aware of the timesert update(is it still relavent). Sorry if I am rambling on too much but want start figuring this all out. My Main question is >Should I expect for a 2000-2004 deville to have head problems? I would not pay more than a couple thousand for a car in that case. Cheers!! hondadude

Old 01-24-2009, 06:22 PM
Tech Certified Members
Default RE: Do all Northstars Overheat??

No, but aluminum engines that severly overheat, tend to blow head gaskets. There were improvement made for the Y2K and again in 2004. I have had no luck with Toyotas or Hondas, but everyone says they are the best. I can US built heaps with 150K miles or more and drive them till I'm tired of them, and turn around and sell them still running. I don't abuse them either (most of the time)

Old 01-24-2009, 09:12 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Do all Northstars Overheat??

ORIGINAL: hondadude

Do all Northstars Overheat??

the answer is a huge .. .. NO !

as slowroll states, every aluminum engine out there is susceptible to gasket failures.