Cadillac STS The newest installation of the performance sedan from Cadillac, having replaced the Seville

"Hood Open" message

  #1  
Old 04-02-2013, 04:06 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 2
Default "Hood Open" message

2005 STS. I'll be driving down the road and this message pops up and goes away, quite often. Like every few minutes. I've tried opening and closing the hood, to no avail. Seems like its closed. Where's the switch that tells the computer the hoods open? Not painfully evident. Car is new to me.
 
  #2  
Old 04-03-2013, 03:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 92
Default

The 'Hood Ajar' switch is riveted to the hood latch assembly.
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-2013, 11:07 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 2
Default You are correct sir!

Originally Posted by EricD View Post
The 'Hood Ajar' switch is riveted to the hood latch assembly.
I found it on the back of the latch. Thanks Eric! I hosed it down with electronic contact cleaner, and so far so good.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
missileJ
General Tech
11
05-08-2012 01:28 PM
bsstyle2011
Cadillac Seville
6
03-22-2011 04:07 PM
johnwilliams
Suspension sponsored by Arnott Inc.
3
04-05-2010 11:53 AM
CaddyDaddy99
General Tech
5
03-25-2010 06:48 PM
91DeVille
General Tech
0
04-19-2009 10:16 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: "Hood Open" message


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.