Cadillac Seville The Cadillac luxury combined with a performance sedan feel

99 SLS won't start

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2006, 12:28 AM
Default 99 SLS won't start

Caddy newbie here, but not a newbie when it comes to fixing GM cars. But this one has me stumped. The car has a remote starter with alarm which is made by AutoMate, or so I think because that what the little window sticker says. It has been working fine since I got the car. Anyway, tonight, I went to put the registration in the window, so I unlocked the door with the fob, did what I had to do, closed her up and locked it using the key fob. I got the usual chirps and the lights flashed normally. When I was ready to leave, I unlocked the door using the key fob and decided to start the car with the key, the old fashioned way. Well I got the message in the DIC to Service Theft System and one for Service Stability System, and to top it all off, I turn the key and nothing happens. The car won't start.

I tried to find a reset button for the AutoMate alarm and all I found was a momentary switch on the driver's side kick panel. I played with that for awhile, but still nothing. I've given up for the night thinking that maybe there is some internal timer that would reset and I'd be able to start it later on.

If that doesn't happen, does anyone have any suggestions where I can bypass this thing? I only have one key that came with the car, the spare is on order and I haven't received it yet, so trying another transponder key is out. I was thinking of disconnecting the battery to see what happened, but I don't want to if I don't have to.

HELP!

Old 11-28-2006, 04:49 PM
Default RE: 99 SLS won't start