Cadillac Seville The Cadillac luxury combined with a performance sedan feel

99 Seville STS - overheated and now leaks oil

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2009, 11:44 PM
Question 99 Seville STS - overheated and now leaks oil

In January of this year, a very close friend of mine passed away. I purchased his '99 Seville STS from his daughter ($1500) only a few weeks ago. I was well aware that it had a few unknown mechanical issues. My friend, Mike, who owned the car was an older gentleman with bad eyesight at night. Because of this, he strattled one too many center islands, parking dividers, and curbs. To make a long story short, I knew the car leaked power stearing fluid and a slight overheating issue. It also gurggled whenever turning a corner, the sounds came from behind the dash I think. I've been driving it for a couple of months without any problems at all. I work from home, so I don't commute or drive long distances ever. Well, the car had been running like a champ, until now. Last week I drove it on the freeway on a warm day and had a very large friend riding with me. The car's temperature gauge spiked nearly to the red zone after about 20 minutes of driving. I quickly exited and pulled into the first parking lot. There was no visual sign of my engine overheating. I quickly opened the hood but there was no steam, no sounds, nothing leaking. Just normal heat radiating from the engine compartment. To be on the safe side, I had the car towed home. I was able to start the engine and drive it into my driveway after the tow truck dropped us off. It ran like a champ. I drove it one last time to the DMV (about 5 miles away via freeway) and it nearly did the same thing again. I made it home just as it started to spike. The next day, there was a huge oil leak stain under the car (very center directly below where you fill the oil. I haven't driven the car since, nor have I tempted to try and start it up. I am so afraid that its a blown head gasket or cracked head. Is this