General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Outside air temp sensor not reading correctly

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2008, 04:01 PM
Default Outside air temp sensor not reading correctly

Greetings,
OK, so I am new to Cadillacs and this site, and I am about to double post, but nobody answered my other post.
. If you need to move this, please do.

Two weeks ago I purchased a 2003 DeVille DTS.
I noticed the outside air temp sensor is off on the plus side by 20 degrees and tends to go down to withing 10 degress of the actual temp as I drive.
All I can think is that the sensor is bad. It is not broke, It is clipped in the correct place in front of the radiator.
It is only a $24 piece. Will I be assuming correctly if I think the sensor is bad?
I saw other posts with suggestions about this, but no answers as to the fix.

Thanks a bunch

Old 05-08-2008, 07:08 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Outside air temp sensor not reading correctly

ORIGINAL: skippyDTS

Greetings,
OK, so I am new to Cadillacs and this site, and I am about to double post, but nobody answered my other post.
. If you need to move this, please do.

Two weeks ago I purchased a 2003 DeVille DTS.
I noticed the outside air temp sensor is off on the plus side by 20 degrees and tends to go down to withing 10 degress of the actual temp as I drive.
All I can think is that the sensor is bad. It is not broke, It is clipped in the correct place in front of the radiator.
It is only a $24 piece. Will I be assuming correctly if I think the sensor is bad?
I saw other posts with suggestions about this, but no answers as to the fix.

Thanks a bunch
try unpluging it, cleaning the contacts and see what it does.
if nothing happens, get a new one.

Old 05-09-2008, 11:17 AM
Tech Certified Members
Default RE: Outside air temp sensor not reading correctly