Cadillac Seville The Cadillac luxury combined with a performance sedan feel

dropping engine - what a biootch!

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2006, 07:33 PM
Default dropping engine - what a biootch!

Just want to vent a little about what a total bioootch it has been dropping out the front cradle! I have spent almost 20 hours so far and it's ALMOST ready to come out. Just need to loosen the 6 cradle bolts and jack up the frame. This is my first time wrenching on a caddy, and I can't believe how many frickin' electrical connections I had to undo... its wiring madness. Now i just hope my little labels dont fall off the plugs... [X(]I'd be so lost!

The car is a 96 with 148k, and I can tell this is the first time its ever been dissected. Some of these bolts are solid! The exhaust bolts are so rusted to oblivion, that soaking them in penetrating oil spray and a 250 ft-lb air gunis futile. I'm just snapping reducers / flex joints. So, I decided to drop the motor with the y-pipe/exhaust attached. A little more work disconnecting the exhaust all the way back to the muffler tips, but I see no other way to do it short of cutting the pipe, which I don't want to do for replacement cost reasons. Once I get it out of the engine bay and things are more accessible, I should be able to get at the bolts with the air gun and no elbow adapters. If it doesn't come out that way, I'll drill out the bolts.