Cadillac Eldorado This classic Caddy still stands today for complete luxury.

Update: 1971 Eldorado Convertible - Finally got some pictures and test drive

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2007, 05:03 PM
Default Update: 1971 Eldorado Convertible - Finally got some pictures and test drive

I have a chance to buy a 71 convertible. It has 150,000 miles. Overall it looks in great shape. It was recently re-painted (in the original yellow). Just wondering. The guy is asking $3800. Is it worth it? I am new to this stuff, but I really enjoy older cadillacs.

Thanks,
Rambis

OK, I did not have a mechanic look at it yet, but I did get a test drive. The top was up and it made a clicking noise because there are some problems with getting it to attach securely.

The top looked OK. The power windows worked. The power seat also worked somewhat, no tilt, etc. I was kind of disappointed that the seat did not go back farther. I'm 6'6", so I like leg room. The motor sounded good, looked clean. It shifted nicely.

[IMG]local://upfiles/3577/D19F50373F6747D48D75DAD43BC39448.jpg[/IMG]

Old 05-20-2007, 06:41 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 1971 Eldorado Convvertable - Question

Really need to have a lot more info. On a 36 year old car there is a lot to check.The list is long, such as check rockers and quarters for rust, definately put car on rack, all power mechanisms for seats windows and top etc., so if you can tell us what you have already looked in to and maybe post pics we can give it a shot.

Best bet is if you have a local mechanic that is ****.It may be worth the 65 or 75 bucks for the hour he spends on the car. It's hard to value any car without seeing it in person.Looks can bedeceiving. That's one reason I would never buy a car on e-bay.

In any case good luck and don't forget to post a pic of the car here.

Old 05-20-2007, 07:55 PM
Super Moderator

is the car in Bakersfield?

Old 05-20-2007, 07:55 PM