Cadillac Deville The flagship luxury car, offering the class with which the Cadillac has been associated, for decades

Timing chains ? when removing head gaskets

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2008, 07:24 PM
Default Timing chains ? when removing head gaskets

deville 96 ,110 000 Milesi have change water pump,therm, water temp sen, and still overeathing ok . im going to chek the heater core and other little stuff. once the pressure build up the car gets rid of the water through the tank and you all know uadd more and it does the same thing.but im sure is the head gaskets. i have read about them already. i think i can pull the job off my self, im an automotive student. my question is while attempting to remove the head gaskets will i have to mess with the timingof the car ??? once i remove the valve covers and remove the chain that moves the camshaft will the time get messed up ?????? i am not really sure about that,
i dont have accessto shop key or all data right nowso im not sure of that !!
i have drain the oil and there is no sign of antifreeze in the oil. but still keeps heatingup the car smokes in the mornings when its cold, but thats the normal smoke other than that i have no idea what it could be but the head gaskets. ANY HELP WILL BE APPRECIATED THANK YOU GUYS IN ADVANCED.!!!

Old 12-30-2008, 08:41 PM
Tech Certified Members
Default RE: Timing chains ? when removing head gaskets

To try to do this; you a factory service manual and there will be some special tools required. Being your in auto votech talk to your instructor. Due to the advanced design of the Northstar engine its repair could be a worthy class project. Most Votechs can not charge you labor, they do charge for parts and materials, and it may take a little long to get it back.

Old 12-31-2008, 10:40 AM
Super Moderator

I echo what slowroll said ... plus ... take pictures of everything as you go.

dont even open the hood without the FACTORY SERVICE MANUAL ...

have you considered an engine swap?