Cadillac CTS The mid-sized sedan that has grown the popularity of the Cadillac brand with it's low price and sleek styling

2017 CTS Front Poor Front Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2019, 09:37 PM
Default 2017 CTS Front Poor Front Suspension

Does anyone else experience front suspension problems with their CTS. My 2017 CTS is a premium luxury 3.6lL that I purchased as a certified used vehicle this past spring with 17,700 miles is BAD! It does have the 19" dia. run flat tires that help create a rougher ride than other tire packages. However I have never had another vehicle bottom out the shocks in the shock tower as frequently as this car. These bangs in the suspension are happening at speeds under 40 mph off the freeway. Yes we have potholes to contend with here in NE Ohio but I have been driving these roads for 50 years.

This is my first Cadillac and I refuse to believe Cadillac would design and produce a vehicle with such a poor suspension. However my dealer has stated that my issues are frequently experienced by CTS owners and they see this issue all the time in this area. I have had the car in for service three times complaining about the front end and wheel vibration. The last visit found a bent rim. I did purchase the tire and rim warranty package at the time of purchase and the rim was sent out for repair. However the vibration is still there. At a scheduled oil change I went to the dealer a half hour early and drove around the neighborhood until I found a place that I could reproduce suspension noises when making a right hand turn. The service representative acknowledged an issued and I have another appointment next week.

Before that service appointment I would appreciate any feedback others have on their experience with the front suspensions on their late model CTS.

Old 01-07-2020, 04:50 PM

Im having similar issues with my 2019 CTS, I got it with 18-19k miles and just as you described, the shocks bottomout so easily. I'm taking mine in a week