Member Introduction New to the forum? Stop in and introduce yourself! If you have a tech question, check out the General Technical Section

removing a engine and trans out of a cadillac deville 1993 4.9....

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2009, 06:30 AM
Default removing a engine and trans out of a cadillac deville 1993 4.9....

Hi i'm new to the web site this is my 3rd caddy but my first 4.9 engine and i need to take motor and tranny out do any one have some advice on the procedures to taking them both out at same time

Old 08-26-2009, 08:38 AM
Tech Certified Members

Originally Posted by cadillac marvin

Hi i'm new to the web site this is my 3rd caddy but my first 4.9 engine and i need to take motor and tranny out do any one have some advice on the procedures to taking them both out at same time
1. why is it being pulled? trans problems?
2. get a FSM .. skip the haynes and other such useless literature

http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?_nkw=199...nual&_osacat=0

3. get a cherry picker ($150), dont use the rafters.
4. get a connector tool to disconnect harnesses
5. tag every connection, every single one.
6. upon re-assembly, lub every connection with di-electric grease,
7. torque & torque every bolt/nut, torque with a torque wrench
8. clean the engine/transmission BEFORE you start the job.
9. remove hood & radiator.

Last edited by stomper; 08-27-2009 at 09:09 AM.
Old 08-27-2009, 02:58 AM

thanks for the info but yes i'm pulling it because I broke the link inside the trans changing the neutral switch but the trans had a lil slip in it anyway so i'm taking to get looked at and while out doing a lil refurbishing to the motor

Old 08-27-2009, 09:04 AM
Tech Certified Members

thanks for the info but yes i'm pulling it because I broke the link inside the trans changing the neutral switch but the trans had a lil slip in it anyway so i'm taking to get looked at and while out doing a lil refurbishing to the motor