General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1996 deville overheating, I need help.

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2011, 04:47 PM
Default 1996 deville overheating, I need help.

ok this is my first time posting on this website.

I have a 1996 cadillac deville that has been giving me nothing but problems. it wont stop overheating and everything i have done didnt help. this is the things that i have done.

Ok I just got the car and when I got home there was radiator fluid that was coming out of the overflow tube. so I did a pressure test and found out that there was a heater hose that wasnt tightened down all the way, it was a hose coming out of the block or somewhere there on the rear of the engine on the driver side. so I fixed that.

took it around and the same problem happened, so I thought maybe a air bubble so i purged the line.

Still had the same problem, so I took it in the shop to see if they can fix it. They replaced the t-stat, waterpump, flushed the whole system, did a chemical (dye) test to see if it was a head gasket. they done that 3 times, and still cant figure it out. I replaced the cap and got a new resivor tank prior to taking it in the shop. the fans do work on high and low. they kick on around 217 degrees. doesnt blow any smoke ot and diss color in my oil, but when i take the cap off it does bubble, more when its reved up. i guy at the shop said its doing that because the fluid is pluged somewhere and the water is getting so hot it just boils over.

the owner of the car before me replaced the raidator so he told me. it looks new so I havent messed with that.

the heater doesnt work and I was told if I have a bad heater core it will make my car over heat, I thought that sounded silly. maybe if it was cloged it would do that, so I flushed out the heater hoses and it wasnt cloged. but the heater still doesnt work the blower works just no heat. Could this be the problem of my mysterious deville?