Cadillac Deville The flagship luxury car, offering the class with which the Cadillac has been associated, for decades

1996 Deville “STARTING DISABLED - DUE TO THEFT SYSTEM - REMOVE IGNITION KEY”

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2010, 11:57 AM
Default 1996 Deville “STARTING DISABLED - DUE TO THEFT SYSTEM - REMOVE IGNITION KEY”

I have a 1996 Deville with 154,000 miles on it.
I have owned the car for only three weeks. I am not a mechanic, but have some basic wiring/repair skills.
The car started fine for the first three weeks without any incident. Yesterday I was cleaning the car and thought that I would listen to music so I turned the key to the accessory position and listened for about 15-20 minutes. When I was finished I turned the key back to the off position and exited the car and locked the doors using the key fob.
When I came back I opened the doors with the fob and the car it would not start. When I turned the key I got normal dash lights in the run postion and then nothing in the start position except for the message “STARTING DISABLED - DUE TO THEFT SYSTEM - REMOVE IGNITION KEY”.

I tried my spare set of keys for the car with the same results.
I read through the owners manual (I do not own a Factory Service Manual) and lots of posts on this forum and other sites. I read all about the VATS system and how there might be a broken wire at the cylinder. I read about how it is possible to bypass the resister reader in the ignition. I read one post where the person mentioned having put their car in the accessory position for 10+ minutes and experienced similar results.

I called my local dealer and the service manager was very quick to tell me that I had a bad ignition cylinder and that I needed to have the car towed in and the repair would run about $500.

Here are my questions: