General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

northstar interchangable years??

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2006, 08:18 PM
Default northstar interchangable years??

i have the option of purchasing 2 caddys from the same guy for cheap.

one is a 94, the motor and trans are good, but a bunch of dumb **** is wrong with it.

the other is a 96 which is in good shape. the head gaskets blew out on that one

both ahve the northstar in it.

i plan on buying both and putting the motor from the 94 into the 96 and selling the trans and scrapping the rest of the car (unless anyone needs some parts from it)

will the 94 motor work in the 96? im sure id have to swap sensors and accessories, etc but will the motor itself work?

also, what years are the trans compatible with for future reference (might already have a buyer)

now im a mechanic by trade, but not a cadillac expert thats why im asking you guys. the motor swap is no problem i just wanna know what im getting into before i dive in.

thanks,
Russell

Old 06-30-2006, 09:39 PM
Default RE: northstar interchangable years??

The computer controls changed from OBD I to OBD II in 1996. So the 94 engine would have to use the 96 PCM & control electronics, which would complicate the swap. It would be simpler to repair the 96 engine.

Old 06-30-2006, 09:49 PM
Super Moderator

That gets really tricky. You really need to do your homework on this one.
If you swap a motor/trans/wire harness/computer all together you would be alright, but each year something got changed or updated.
93 and 94 are all by themselves in many respects. 95 fuel rails are different then 96. Wow, some many things i don't know of that are probably different.