General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

How To Repair A Northstar Head Gasket

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2011, 09:01 PM
Exclamation How To Repair A Northstar Head Gasket

I hope that this thread becomes useful to those who have the general knowledge of mechanics and are thinking about or have replaced the head gaskets on a 00-04 Northstar. I am a service writer at a local repair shop. I have the access to some useful tools, but by no means is it a machine shop. I am doing this repair in a small two car garage with a low ceiling. I am using a small number of tools and I have bought the GM service manual for my model. I have removed the hood and was able to pull the engine with no major difficulties. It might take longer, but If you have another means of transportation and not much money, It is a good deal. I have decided to re ring it and replace all the bearings, seals, and anything else that should be replaced. I will post pictures of the engine and list the steps and information I have found. Any added info would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Kelso; 09-19-2011 at 09:11 PM.
Old 09-19-2011, 11:35 PM
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by Kelso