Cadillac Seville The Cadillac luxury combined with a performance sedan feel

Navigation Problems! Could really use some help!

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2007, 08:03 PM
Default Navigation Problems! Could really use some help!

Hello, I'm a newbie here. Let me tell you a little about my car than my problem. I have an 02 Seville STS with about 81,500 miles and loaded, including navigation. About a week ago, my battery went dead and a bunch of things went funny. My service left system and service tire monitor popped up along with my navigation going blank. I charged the batteryand everything went away except for the navigation was still messed up. It wasn't blank anymore but it tilted itself and said this: "Caution! Cannot load system software. Please insert correct disc." Or something along those lines. I could not do anything to it, no buttons would work. Also, when I would shut the car off it would stay on, the only way I could make it not run my battery down is pull the fuse. There is also no sound whatsoever. There is no chimes, dingers or what have you.

I pulled a few codes and this is what I got: AMP U1000 and NO IRC DATA. I took it to the dealer and they said I need a new navigation, go figure. I was looking through my service manual at some of the TSB's and it looks like theres one there. They say that it needs a software disc and they gave the part number. I put the part number in GMpartsdirect.com and ordered it, but it hasn't come yet.

Has this happened to anyone before? Do you think I'm going on the right track buying that disc? Also, could a bad amp be causing this? I checked all my fuses and they are ok. Thanks for any help in advance!

Old 03-26-2007, 02:40 PM
Default RE: Navigation Problems! Could really use some help!

Bulletin No.: 02-08-44-015B
Date: May 23, 2006
TECHNICALSubject:
Blank Navigation Screen, Intermittent Door Chime or Map Display Cannot Zoom in Closer Than 16 Miles in Some Areas (Update AVN Software)
Models: