Cadillac Seville The Cadillac luxury combined with a performance sedan feel

Infamous Bose Replacement Questions (94 STS)

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2009, 06:21 PM
Default Infamous Bose Replacement Questions (94 STS)

Hello everyone, This is my first post here.

I just bought a 1994 STS with 37k on it, its been in my family since day one. The bose system works ok, but intermitantly it will pop off, and all I hear is the interferance from the ignition through the speakers. I think the CDM is probably toast.

I have a DDin Kenwood head unit, and aftermarket speakers/subs/amps to replace everything with.

I have had extensive experience working on all kinds of cars, classics and new. Anyone that can help answer a few questions, I would greatly appreciate it!
1. Has anyone used the Metra wire kit with bose integration, and if so, can you actually use the factory bose speakers with the aftermarket head unit? I assume thats what "bose integration" means...
2. Where do most people wire their power wire for a trunk mounted aftermarket amp? I read somewhere it needs to come off the battery, across the front of the engine bay, through the grommet on the left side firewall, and then the length of the car. Isnt there something on the left side near the fuse box that I can connect a 4ga power wire to, so I dont have to waste so much 4ga wire? If not, cant I just hook it to the battery and run it through the right side of the firewall?
3. If I decide not to use a $50 metra kit, What wires do most people tap into for power/ign/memory from the factory CDM harness at the head unit? (a source for a wire diagram would be nice)
4. When using the metra harness, is the antenna that comes with it any good? ie: does it pick up any interferance?