Cadillac Eldorado This classic Caddy still stands today for complete luxury.

Questions about an Eldorado-Ad - HELP

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2008, 08:00 PM
Default Questions about an Eldorado-Ad - HELP

Hi,

I really fancy the Eldorado and I found an ad that sounded really great.

This is what the ad states:

"1997 Cadillac Eldorado Touring Coupe for sale. Needs some small work done.
-Brakes need replacing ($150 at cantire)
-multi function relay apparently dying(a couple sensors lights are wonky but works fine) So I purchased complete 2nd steering column/airbag/wheel, comes with the car
-minor cosmetic repair on one rear quarter panel."

I am no professional mechanic and therefore I am wondering if that really is only "small work" or if that is a money sink. Or can I go for it? The car looks quite great and the owner is asking 4300 Canadian $.

Can anybody PLEASE give me an opinion?!?!?

Thanks in advance,

Florens

Old 08-30-2008, 07:37 AM
Default RE: Questions about an Eldorado-Ad - HELP

Not sure how the economy is in your particular province but that asking price seems awfully high for a vehincle with that many issues. You need to take into consideration that the vehicle is 11 years old and probably needs other maintenance done for it to be a vialble driving car.

Since you are a mechanic and can perform the work yourself then it looks like the labor will only cost you your time and the parts you probably get a decent price for. I would suggest that when you do go to look at the car that you do a thourough inspection of the car and keep a tallied list bring a clipboard and write down anything that you see wrong with the vehicle and next to that write down how many hours you think it will take you to do and an estimate of parts. Other things to look at are what condition are the tires in? Would you need to replace them? If yes then you should deduct that from your offer.