Go Back   Cadillac Forum - Enthusiast forums for Cadillac Owners > Cadillac Models > Cadillac Deville
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-26-2006, 01:03 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default Fuel gauge problem

I got an o1 deville, and it seems that the faster I go, the higher the fuel guage reads...obviously the sensor's ****ed, but I want to know if there's a computer reset or something to fix this or if I need a new sensor? And how much do y'all think it would be for one in the gas tank? I know I could ask the dealership, and I most likely will, but it's late and I was curious...thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2006, 05:48 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location:
Posts: 24
Default RE: Fuel gauge problem

I've seen others post this problem in the past, read about it in car articles, and I had it happen on my '00 DHS. It's the sender in the tank, and it's about $600 bucks, plus or minus a hundred, to have it fixed. I've heard two theoriesfor this problem: one, that they're made of cheaper metal coating (than on ultra-expensive cars) and two, there's something in the gas these days that coats them. I read that an occasional bottle of Chevron Techron (the bottled kind; the kind in their gas is supposedly not strong enough or not the same formulation) might de-gunk it and make it accurate again. My old Dodge truck has had this problem for years.

It's cheaper to write down the mileage at each fillup and approximate when to top off again, but I had mine fixed good as new...for a price.
__________________
Brolinger
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 507
Default RE: Fuel gauge problem

You can get just the sensor now instead of replacing the whole module. Much cheaper.
Also this can be fixed as it's just build up on the contact patch of the sensor. I clean them with an eraser tip.
Access through the trunk is quite easy also. Just be warned the fuel system is under pressure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2007, 09:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default RE: Fuel gauge problem

Is the sensor in the same location on the '00 Seville? If so, where in the trunk can you access it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:34 AM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 507
Default RE: Fuel gauge problem

lift up the carpet behind the back seat passenger side.
You will see the access. I recommend getting the fuel level as low as possible before removing the module. And as above be careful, the fuel system is pressurised.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2008, 05:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default RE: Fuel gauge problem

I have an 02 Escalade that is having fuel gauge problems. It will jump all over from Empty to full (after a fill up). Would the fix above possibly work for that?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2008, 07:09 PM
slowroll's Avatar
Tech Certified Members
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mid Atlantic
Posts: 2,505
Default RE: Fuel gauge problem

No, there is no reset procedure for sender. Use this thread to guide you toward correction.
__________________
It will be OK
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 07:09 PM
 
 
 
Reply



Tags
cadillac, cts, deville, eldorado, escalade, fix, fuel, full, gage, gas, gauge, problems, seville, stuck, working


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.