Cadillac Deville The flagship luxury car, offering the class with which the Cadillac has been associated, for decades

96 Deville overheating

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2007, 07:30 PM
Default 96 Deville overheating

Hello all,

as you can see this is my first time posting on this forum. I have read quite a few post so I will try to include all the information. I drive a 96 Deville w/ 4.6 Northstar engine. I have only owned this car for two months so I don't know much about it's history. When I bought the car Service ride control was in the display. After reading I found that the struts were bad. Now my cars is overheating my normal range was between 197 to 210. Now the car overheats to the point where is says idle engine before I shut it down. This occurs only while driving and after drivng 30 minutes or more if the car was cold prior todriving. I have to constantly add coolant but cannot find any leaks. My engine idles smooth and I have no steam from the exhuast (but there is a little moisture and a drop or two of what I think is water may fall every now and then, and I can smell the faint smell of antifreeze sometimes in the engine compartment (could be from spillage?). I traced all the collant hoses I fould locate and all were hot. Fans workon high and low speeds. and I do have heat, Sometimes when it overheats the coolant spills out the hose beneath the pressure cap but I can't say this is the case all the time. I checked the codes and Here is what I have PC1258, RS0061, PZ2042. What do they mean? I've read in other post that the problem I am having is likely to be head gasket lifted. What do you think. Forgot to tell you therostat has been replaced, system was flushed by dealership.

Old 04-23-2007, 09:27 AM
Default RE: 96 Deville overheating

I could find only P1258 in the '97 books, and it's related to your overheating: Engine Metal Overtemperature Protection. It turns the SES MIL "On" and runs the engine in Alternating 4 Cyl. Mode.