Cadillac Deville The flagship luxury car, offering the class with which the Cadillac has been associated, for decades

4th Gear Slips

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2006, 10:49 PM
Default 4th Gear Slips

Hello Guys,I'm a Master Auto Tech My self and have worked on all brands vehicles for over 20 yrs.I own a 96 DeVille with a 4.6 Northstar Engine and I belive an 4T80-E hidramatic Transmission.Unfortunately,Transmissions are NOT my Best area.When I purchased this vehicle,I have to replace the "Transmission Speed Sensor" This one is Deep inside the tranny (NOT the Vehicle Speed sensor) Without Removing the trans out of the car.So I'm familiar with this Transmission.
Now I have a very Bad Problem on My car,when takes off,Shift Perfecly From 1-2,from 2-3 but when Shifts from 3-4.......OOPPS engine revolutions go up,Transmission slips with no traction at All.(Like if goes on Neutral).
From my little knowledge of transmissions,I would say,there is a problem with the trans 4th gear Clutches,Band or servo piston.
my question is :Anyone with transmission Experience,Could repace the 4th gear chutches,band or piston servo without removing the transmission?
PS. This vehicle and Transmission have 89K miles,Ran perfect,fluid it's very clean and NEVER have slipped,or gave any sings of malfunction.This problem happened all of the sudden!!!From day to night.

Any help will be apprecciated.

Old 08-18-2006, 07:24 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 4th Gear Slips

There was a TSB for the lower channel plate not sealing prperly and alowing 4th to slip.
Not sure which years it covered but it was fixing them.
I've only seen 1 with a servo problem and never just a worn out band without something causing it.
If you catch it early enough the band and drum are still ok.

4th band is the closest to the driver side and the servo right behind the steering rack is the one that controls it.
By dropping the pan and lower V/B you can get a real good look at the band and drum to see if its scored or not.