Aluminum Block V8s 4.1, 4.5, 4.6, and 4.9 liter engines.

My beautiful ETC has blown up

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2013, 05:52 PM
Default My beautiful ETC has blown up

Greetings and salutations, as I am a newbie to this I will try not to be a pain. Heres the scooby on my 99 ETC. Riding down the interstate, everything fine then a Pop and it cuts out with a cloud of smoke and steam out the back. Towed it home one side of the radiator was blown out...and I mean peeled back blown out. I am a fairly capable mechanic. So I am weighing my options...rebuild, buy a long block or replace with used. Right now my finaces require replace with used. So to the point. I have a "9" vin code engine. What years of that engine with the "9" vin will work with my 99 ETC. Thanks in advance of all your sage advice.

Old 10-28-2013, 06:54 AM

Just to clarify, you're saying your radiator blew up? Or the engine? If it's the radiator, you can buy a remanufactured one for less than $200. AND, you need to find out why it blew. Check to see whether the water pump and/or thermostat needs replacing. I used to own a 1989 Cadillac Sedan Deville, my radiator blew also, needing a new one AND thermostat replaced.

If it is the engine, you can check with Jasper Engines. They sell a whole line of engines for most cars, and will arrange installation.

TS

Old 10-28-2013, 04:48 PM